A few of my favourite things

“Mum,” said Miss Missy, “I’ve never eaten a croissant. They look delicious, I’d like to try one.”

The Sweet Life in ParisI was shocked because, 1: she never asks to try new food, and 2: I love sharing my favourite things with my kids, so how could it be that in all her 12 years of existence, I had never suggested she try a croissant??

Sharing my favourite is one of the best things about being a parent. I love making pancakes for them on Saturday mornings (no lemon juice for Miss Missy, the gastronomic neophobe). The Young Lad and I love building Lego together.  I loved listening to him when, at age 3, he recited The Very Hungry Caterpillar as he turned the pages of my very own book.

I love watching Project Runway and Star Trek with Miss Missy. Together, she and I have read our way through The Ordinary PrincessMilly Molly Mandy, and the Little House books. Now that she is too grown up to want to be read to by Mum, I’ve started suggesting old favourites, like the Jinny at Finmory series (which she loved) and Anne of Green Gables (which she didn’t!!*).

Cover of Children's Book of CinemaWhen I saw that the library has Bugsy Malone on DVD, I just had to bring it home to watch with her. I was in a production of Bugsy when I was at high school, and loved the movie (perhaps partly because it stars Scott Baio). Miss Missy wasn’t too keen at first, but once I finally persuaded her to give it a try, she loved it. The same thing happened with My Fair Lady (I had a bit part in that too). In fact, she enjoyed that so much that she didn’t want to have to go to bed, and couldn’t wait to watch the other half the next night.

And so began our Mum and Daughter Movie Nights, complete with a yummy treat — and yes, croissants have featured on the treat menu! We very quickly (ok, instantly) ran out of high-school-productions-Mum-was-in-that-are-also-movies, and so we branched out to old favourites of mine like Back to the Future, and classics like The Sound of Music and National Velvet.

But now I’m starting to run out of ideas .  So, I’d love to know what your favourite (pre-teen appropriate) movies are? Or if you’d like some ideas of great movies to watch with the young’uns, you could check out my Movie Night List.

*I know!  I couldn’t believe it either!

16 thoughts on “A few of my favourite things

  1. raewynwyn 18 June 2015 / 11:31 am

    Sounds like your own version of the book: The Film Club by David Gilmour where a dad brought his troubled teen back to the family through sharing films – not that I am suggesting Miss Missy is troubled!
    Our family have a tradition of a movie trilogy to finish the year and avoid bad tv. There is much discussion as we move through November and December as to what the trilogy will be. We have worked through many disney/pixar trilogies and are now branching out into three movies on a theme. One year we held a Douglas Adams’ ‘trilogy in 5 parts’ and watch all the Robin Hood’s we could get our hands on.
    My recommendations for your situation – original versions and 21st Century takes: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory; Mary Poppins and Saving Mr Banks.

    • Paul 18 June 2015 / 11:46 am

      The scary trilogy of 2 Charlie and the Chocolate Factory films and the book – all a bit of beyond this world…

      • missbeecrafty 20 June 2015 / 10:08 am

        I find the Johnny Depp version rather creepy. We’ve watched it together a few times.

    • missbeecrafty 20 June 2015 / 10:04 am

      Your trilogy tradition sounds like a lot if fun! I’ve thoroughly enjoyed Miss Missy’s suggestions which included Romeo and Juliet, Akeela and the Bee, and Holes. I’ll keep an eye out for Saving Mr Banks, it sounds like a goodie – Miss Missy was in a ballet production of Mary Poppins, so it’ll fit right in!

  2. Donna 18 June 2015 / 11:43 am

    Some great suggestions – and Raewyn’s ones too. My girl is a bit younger, but we like Dumb and Dumber, Zoolander and some of those silly ones. Shark boy and Lava girl went down a treat. But I think the big winner is Matilda. We watched the movie, read the book, and have watched the movie heaps of times since. I failed with Bugsy Malone, but might try it again – because it is SUPER AWESOME. And I used to sing her “My name is Tallulah” from when she was a baby. Oh maybe that’s why she isn’t fussed!

    • missbeecrafty 20 June 2015 / 10:15 am

      I love that song! It was one of my song and dance numbers from the show I was in. Sadly my children don’t seem to appreciate it much when I break into song 😦

  3. Mo-mo 18 June 2015 / 12:05 pm

    I was going to suggest The Princess Bride but I see that is already on your list, but maybe Willow? And speaking of Robin Hoods, we really liked the animated Disney version as kids though I haven’t seen it in a good long while.

    • missbeecrafty 20 June 2015 / 10:16 am

      Willow! Yes, that one was great! I’d totally forgotten about it! Thanks for the suggestion

  4. Laraine 18 June 2015 / 2:02 pm

    Sadly, Miss Missy isn’t alone in not appreciating the joys of sour-flavoured food. Manufacturers shove such revoltingly sweet things in children’s way these days it’s no wonder. When young miss from up the road started helping herself to my sister’s sweets, my sister resorted to buying only strong-flavoured sweets (acid drops and anything tasting of liquorice or aniseed, for instance) and made sure the ice blocks in her freezer were grapefruit Frujus. Once Tip Top took away all the grapefruit flavour and made them taste more like over-sweetened lemon (which is what invariably happens when a manufacturer accidentally brings out something worth eating) she had to resort to repacking the iceblocks in a packet that had had held items unappetising to children—usually frozen vegetables.

    • missbeecrafty 20 June 2015 / 10:19 am

      Cunning plans! If it was only sour food Miss Missy objected to, I wouldn’t mind so much, but she manages to cover most flavors with her dislike

    • missbeecrafty 20 June 2015 / 10:22 am

      I’ve never watched the movie, but I do remember the books. I’ll keep an eye out for it. Thanks for the suggestion

  5. Paul 18 June 2015 / 9:50 pm

    Try Doctor Who – start with David Tennant and go back a bit. Then as you travel forward introduce Sarah Jane and then Torchwood. The intertwining will hopefully enagage an enquiring mind to read and try to understand the constucted world and all the intertwined connections that exist. And present lots of challenges to talk about.

    • missbeecrafty 20 June 2015 / 2:33 pm

      Could lead to some robust discussions around who is the best Doctor! I’ve always favoured Pertwee and Tom Baker

Leave a comment