Horticultural ‘Grand Designs’ versus ‘Harsh Reality’

Cover of Creative Vegetable GardeningStarted gardening – albeit in a small way – about 4 years ago when I decided that I needed fresh air and to give myself permission to wear a huge floppy hat like Greta Garbo (about the only similarity between us), whilst working on making various parts of my body vigorously protest at the unaccustomed exercise.

In that time I have tried growing all sorts of vegetables and flowers with varying degrees of success. Only this morning I learned a new gardening word  ‘Chitting‘, and, as instructed, have laid my Jersey Benne seed potatoes on newspaper in the garage waiting for them to sprout so that I can plant them in September.

Cover of Grow Your Own PotatoesLast year as Christmas approached, with barely contained childish glee (not called ‘Peter Pan’ in my family for nothing),  I dug deep into my potato sacks, ferreting around for my carbohydrate treasure trove to tumble out onto the patio; the reward for all my hard work.  The end result was pitiful – Nothing; Naada; Nein; Zippo – OK, slight exaggeration but certainly just enough for a plate at most.

Where had I gone wrong? Well, obviously I hadn’t done enough research on the subject… I needed a book devoted entirely to the ‘starchy’  issue and I hadn’t even thought to look in the Children’s section!

Cover of The Artful GardenGardens come in all shapes and sizes and there is an abundance of information via our library resources whether it be non-fiction books, magazines, eMagazines and library website. Personally, my garden area is small so I concentrate on pots, containers, raised beds, trying to get as much as possible – produce-wise – as I can.  I am still working on it, but have now got sidetracked by the necessity of colour in my garden and my search  for minimal, low-cost ideas designs has proved very enlightening.

Check out all the resources available to you with simply a library card and a PIN/password – it promises to be more bountiful than my last crop of potatoes.

3 thoughts on “Horticultural ‘Grand Designs’ versus ‘Harsh Reality’

  1. bibliobishi 28 August 2015 / 9:31 am

    Karen, Like you I have a limited space. I tried straw bale gardening last year but failed miserably as I relied on the memory and didn’t get the book out of library. Turns out I needed to introduce 10 times the amount of blood and bone or horse muck soup as the starter. This year I will have the book and the bales and have another crack.

  2. karenbccl 28 August 2015 / 12:03 pm

    I am also having another go with the tatties but I am also going to concentrate on getting some more colour in the garden. Spring seems to have arrived and all the bulbs I planted in the front garden are looking absolutely beautiful. Feel slightly mollified … But Jersey Bennes be warned!! You have to work this year.

Leave a Reply

