Re-reading: you either do or you don’t

Wind and the WillowsI am not a re-reader. The only books I have ever re-read have been a mistake, it is a HUGE disappointment to get half way through and to suddenly remember the ending. I want new and exciting, not a rehash of what I have already read. I love that sense of anticipation, what is going to happen, will they survive? For me opening a new book and having no idea of what is ahead gives me that the sense of wonder about the unknown that makes reading such a pleasure.

Re-readers like to experience the different emotions from re-reading, finding out something they may have missed, luxuriating in the words and the structure, reuniting with an old friend. Some read the same book each year, others come back to a book that offers them comfort and familiarity. My mother read The Wind in the Willows whenever life became hard, for some reason Mole offered comfort when others couldn’t! Re-reading: the ultimate guilty pleasure explains the reasons for re-reading better than I can … I still don’t get it but I suspect that you are either re-read or you don’t,  but a tiny piece of me wonders if I should?

Check out these lists to see what other customers recommend as great re-reads.

6 thoughts on “Re-reading: you either do or you don’t

  1. ValerieL 9 August 2015 / 11:12 am

    I enjoy re-reading Jasper Fforde, and John Buchan. I’ll even re-read Sherlock Holmes. I don’t enjoy re-reading the books I enjoyed as a child. I made the mistake of re-reading Enid Blyton once. All I could think was how ridiculous the story was and where were the parents!
    It was then I realised that as far as re-reading goes, the past is a country you should never visit

  2. Gallivanta 9 August 2015 / 9:27 pm

    I am not usually a re-reader. I have re-read The Diary of Anne Frank more than once.

  3. VNZ 12 August 2015 / 3:18 am

    “Enchantress from the stars” by Sylvia Louise Engdahl is worth re-reading.
    Also “I am David” by Anne Holm, a prize winning book for older children.

  4. alinaccl 18 August 2015 / 4:33 pm

    I love rereading! The only books I own are those that I can read more than once. They’re generally comfort reads, books where the journey is just as fulfilling as the ending. I turn to them when I’m feeling sick, unhappy, not in the mood to try something new, or just have an urge to read a particular book or author.

    I agree that some books are better for not rereading, however. Either because the experience doesn’t live up to the memory (as Valeria comments above) or because they rely too heavily on the surprise factor. Or because they’re good but put you in a dark place.

    • Vanessaccl 19 August 2015 / 8:17 am

      Hi Alina, you have just described my approach to rereading to a T🙂

      • katccl 19 August 2015 / 12:47 pm

        Me too!

Leave a Reply

