Donovan Bixley: WORD Christchurch Writers and Readers Festival

WORD Christchurch Writers and Readers Festival kicks off on 27 August. We’ve asked three quick questions of festival guests:

Donovan Bixley – illustrator and writer

Cover of The bright side of my conditionWhat (or who) are you most looking forward to at WORD Christchurch?

So much to look forward to. I’m a big fan of Charlotte Randall. I love historical fiction and the excitement of whaling and naval history – especially the period of the turn of the 19th century – so obviously I felt that The Bright Side of My Condition was written for me. I’m also an old fan of Kristin Hersh and I’m looking forward to her visit to NZ. It will be great to catch up with Melinda Szymanik as we are working on a book together and I’m also looking forward to finally meeting Dylan Horrocks.

What do you think about libraries?

I love just browsing the shelves and discovering new books (new to me that is). There’s never any pressure, if you don’t like it you can return it, and if you do like a book you can go back and get it again and again. Often you can find darling old books that you can’t get in the shops, and as a devoted book lover, I love that a lot of library books are original hardcover versions.

Share a surprising fact about yourself.

At school I used to draw cars and trucks to keep the school bullies on side. Nowadays I love to draw all sorts of things – except (for some strange reason) cars and trucks.

Cover of Monkey Boy Cover of The Three bears Cover of Dinosaur rescue

Leave a Reply

