Michael Corballis: WORD Christchurch Writers and Readers Festival

WORD Christchurch Writers and Readers Festival kicks off on 27 August. We’ve asked three quick questions of festival guests:

Michael Corballis

Cover of The wandering mindWhat (or who) are you most looking forward to at WORD Christchurch?

My visit will be too brief to take full advantage of the festival,  but I’ll be interested to hear what I can. I look also  forward to catching up with some old friends (some of whom will be at my talk), and seeing how Christchurch itself is progressing. I haven’t been there since the earthquake.

What do you think about libraries?

I love libraries.  Most of my working life involves electronic access to knowledge from my desk, but it remains a pleasure to browse in a good library and get the feel of books while we still have them. I think that the modern libraries I know have adapted well to the electronic age, and are pleasant and relaxing places to visit. Browsing in a library is in many ways complementary to browsing on a search engine (like Google) and sometimes more rewarding.

Share a surprising fact about yourself.

Cover of Pieces of mindHmm. Here are some possibilities:
1. I started my university career as an engineering student at the University of Canterbury, but my main ambition at the time was to be a cartoonist.
2. I used to play squash with Ken Strongman but he always beat me.
3. I am addicted to cryptic crosswords, especially those in the London Spectator. Happiness is completing one in a single day.
4. I am not left-handed. (I don’t know why some people find this surprising).

Leave a Reply

