Tracy Farr: WORD Christchurch Writers and Readers Festival

WORD Christchurch Writers and Readers Festival kicks off on 27 August. We’ve asked three quick questions of festival guests:

Tracy Farr – writer

Cover of Paradoxical UndressingWhat (or who) are you most looking forward to at WORD Christchurch?

 Some wonderful musicians – Kristin Hersh and Dave Graney, who I’ve loved for years; and Aldous Harding, who I’ve just discovered – are on the programme. I’m interested in music in fiction, and I love a good music memoir or band bio (my novel The Life and Loves of Lena Gaunt could be described as a fictional musical memoir).

I’m also looking forward to discovering new books and writers. I always try to go to a few wildcard sessions, where I’ve never read anything by the writer, perhaps barely heard of them. I love the element of serendipity that festivals offer.

What do you think about libraries?

I love them. They’re my happy place. I had a student job years ago, working in the main library at University of Western Australia. I was one of a small team that would go in for a few hours before the library opened. We’d be allocated a stretch of shelves each morning, and we’d check that the books were all ordered correctly, pull out any strays, and align the books a neat knuckleslength back from the front of the shelf; a sort of book-based meditation, repetitive and with not too much thinking involved. Other than the early start, my idea of heaven.

Cover of The Life and loves of Lena GauntShare a surprising fact about yourself.

 A New Zealand seaweed species is being named after me. It combines my name with a mermaid deity.

2 thoughts on “Tracy Farr: WORD Christchurch Writers and Readers Festival

Leave a Reply

