Sarah Laing: WORD Christchurch Writers and Readers Festival

WORD Christchurch Writers and Readers Festival kicks off on 27 August. We’ve asked three quick questions of festival guests:

Sarah Laing – fiction writer, graphic designer and cartoonist

What (or who) are you most looking forward to at WORD Christchurch?

It’s such a great programme and I’m excited about a number of events. I can’t wait to hear Meg Wolitzer and Ruth Reichl talk, and I’m super excited about Kristin Hersh being in town. I am looking forward to meeting Tracy Farr, whose book The Lives and Loves of Lena Gaunt I thoroughly enjoyed. Oh, and you’ll probably find me hanging out at all the comics events.

Cover of The Interestings Cover of Delicious Cover of The Lives and loves of Lena Gaunt

What do you think about libraries?

I love libraries. I’ve spent many hours there reading with my children, and I’ve discovered brilliant graphic novels and novels on their shelves. I am still delighted by my ability to read a review on the New York Times or The Guardian and order the book online, only to pick it up a few days or weeks later at my local library.

Cover of The fall of lightShare a surprising fact about yourself.

Surprising facts: I think I do too much oversharing on my blog to surprise anybody, but a few things that might surprise are a. I never studied art at school, b. I always envisaged myself as a musician rather than a writer, c. The nearest I came to being in a band was playing the pan pipes in my Puerto Rican ex-boyfriend’s Latin American folk group, and d. I was scared of the dark well into adulthood and slept with the hall light on until I was 22.

Leave a Reply

