Ruth Reichl: WORD Christchurch Writers and Readers Festival

WORD Christchurch Writers and Readers Festival is a mere few weeks away – it kicks off on 27 August. We’ve asked three quick questions of festival guests:

RuthRuth Reichl – writer, food memoirist

What (or who) are you most looking forward to at WORD Christchurch?

It’s such an amazing line-up of impressive writers, people I’ve admired for such a long time.  But the person I’m most looking forward to meeting is Meg Wolitzer; I’ve read (and loved) everything she’s written, we have many friends in common – including her mother (also a wonderful novelist) – but we’ve never met.

What do you think about libraries?

They’ve saved my life so often, I’m so grateful that they exist.  And I’m especially impressed with the way they’ve reshaped their mission in modern times, becoming an important part of the social safety net.

Share a surprising fact about yourself.

I am miserable if I don’t have a cat.

Cover of Delicious Cover of Garlic and sapphires Cover of Not becoming my mother

Leave a Reply

