Helen Lowe: WORD Christchurch Writers and Readers Festival

WORD Christchurch Writers and Readers Festival is a mere few weeks away – it kicks off on 27 August. We’ve asked three quick questions of festival guests:

Helen Lowe – local speculative fiction writer

Cover of We need new namesWhat (or who) are you most looking forward to at WORD Christchurch?

I think the whole programme is really exciting for its breadth and diversity, but as both a Fantasy and YA author and reader myself I’m particularly thrilled to be compereing the Supernaturally event with Elizabeth Knox and Laini Taylor. But I read widely, and so am also very keen to get along and hear NoViolet Bulawayo talking about her Man Booker Prize shortlisted novel We Need New Names.

What do you think about libraries?

I love libraries – as I think my 2008 short story Red Earth perhaps hints. 😉 But even if I didn’t, in an age when we angst about knowledge economies and knowledge futures, libraries are vital to our society catching those waves, both in terms of nurturing literacy and facilitating access, not just to information, but accurate information.

Share a surprising fact about yourself.

Ah, there’s the rub, Facts are easy, but surprising facts… I don’t tend to think of myself as a surprising person at all, but more as ‘just an ordinary girl.’ But fortunately the man in my life galloped to the rescue with a number of (apparently!) surprising facts, of which this was my favourite: that I once spoke Swedish, and still can to the extent that after several episodes of The Bridge, my lingual ear readjusted to a significant portion of the dialogue, albeit with an almost audible–and somewhat ‘grinding’–click!

  • Helen Lowe appears at WORD Christchurch Writers and Readers Festival in:
    Supernaturally on Sunday, 31 August 1pm with  Laini Taylor and Elizabeth Knox as they talk fantasy, world-building and writing for young adults.
  • Search our catalogue for books by Helen
  • Read more Festival guest picks and WORD Christchurch posts

Cover of The gathering of the lost Cover of Thornspell Cover of The heir of night

Leave a Reply

