Melinda Szymanik: WORD Christchurch Writers and Readers Festival

WORD Christchurch Writers and Readers Festival is a mere few weeks away – it kicks off on 27 August. We’ve asked three quick questions of festival guests:

Melinda Szymanik – writer for children and young adults

Cover of The Song of KauriWhat (or who) are you most looking forward to at WORD Christchurch?

I’m really looking forward to taking part in the schools programme on Thursday and reading my books to children on Saturday. It’s always a thrill to share my stories with the young people I write for. And I’m most excited to hear the discussion about Young Adult fantasy writing, between Elizabeth Knox and Laini Taylor, chaired by Helen Lowe on Sunday.

What do you think about libraries?

I discovered so many wonderful books in libraries, both school and community based, as a child. Libraries supported my reading habit and enabled me to read much more widely than the family budget could ever have allowed. They helped shape me and contributed to me becoming a writer. I love them.

Share a surprising fact about yourself.

I researched Rock Wallabies on Rangitoto Island to get my Masters in Zoology.

Leave a Reply

