Coral Atkinson and Kate Fraser: WORD Christchurch Writers and Readers Festival

WORD Christchurch Writers and Readers Festival is a mere few weeks away – it kicks off on 27 August. We’ve asked three quick questions of festival guests, here’s what they have to say.

Cover of Passing ThroughCoral Atkinson

What (or who) are you most looking forward to at WORD Christchurch?

The festival offers such a smorgasbord of literary delights it is very difficult to single any one out. However, having recently written my novel Passing Through, which deals with the impact of the First World War on a group of Christchurch people, I am particularly keen to go to How  We Remember: Recalling and Retelling the First World War with Harry Ricketts, Paul Diamond and Anna Rogers.

What do you think about libraries?

I love libraries and think it essential we do all we can to retain them — and keep them free for users. I so agree with Neil Gaiman’s saying, ‘Libraries are the thin red line between civilization and barbarism.’

Share a surprising fact about yourself.

I can’t bear the smell of banana and orange peelings. It reminds me of being on duty during wet lunch hours, in the years when I was a
secondary school teacher.

Novelist and short fiction writer Coral Atkinson will be appearing at the session Beyond the Veil: Historical Ghost Stories Sunday 31 August, 4pm

Search our catalogue for books by Coral.

Kate Fraser

What (or who) are you most looking forward to at WORD Christchurch?

I am looking forward to my morning tea session with Nicky Pellegrino and Ruth Reichl and my brunch session with Simon Gault. Away from food I hope to get to the sessions with Shigeru Ban and Noviolet Bulawayo.

What do I think about libraries?

My friends from the cares of the day since I was given the key to the Kurow library and came and went as I liked and read a great number of unsuitable books. I was 11.

Share a surprising fact about yourself.

As a student in Dunedin way back then I had a gig at a ‘nightclub’ The Dancing Lobster. It was above a pool parlour and was kind of theatre-restaurant. I was the floor show. A modern (for 1959) dance act. I have always forgotten to include nightclub dancer on my CV.

The Press’s food editor Kate Fraser will be appearing at Delicious with Ruth Reichl and Nicky Pellegrino, Friday, 29 August 10am and Brunch with Simon Gault: Sunday 31 August, 9.30am

 

Read more Festival guest picks and WORD Christchurch posts.

Leave a Reply

