The billionaire’s secret mistress at the family planning clinic

A UK psychologist has declared that a “huge number” of problems dealt with in family planning clinics have their roots in romance novels.  She goes on to say that:

our lessons are  falling on deaf ears when compared to the values of the Regency heroine gazing adoringly across the Assembly Rooms to catch a glimpse of her man.

So the problems of unwanted pregnancy and failed relationships are all down to Mills and Boon and the like?  Who would have thought?  Perhaps this psychologist hasn’t read A night with consequences or  Stranded, seduced – pregnant.  Both sound like they could sit in any family planning clinic bookshelf as a dire warning for irresponsible coupling.  I am also rather taken by the title: The librarian’s secret scandal, but purely for professional reasons of course!

For those of you interested in book covers, The art of romance : Mills & Boon and Harlequin cover designs by Joanna Bowring gives a wonderful  visual record of romance and love over the years.  Published since 1908, Mills and Boon and its heroes and heroines have certainly seen a lot of change.

  • What’s your favourite romance book or film?

8 thoughts on “The billionaire’s secret mistress at the family planning clinic

  1. Robyn 11 July 2011 / 11:54 am

    As a girl I loved Wuthering Heights but when I listened to it on Talking Book last year I found myself well over Heathcliff – he was so inexcusably mean to his wife. Not to mention violent. I can’t think what I saw in him.
    My other big fave in adolescence was Dragonwyck, I think it was by Anya Seton. I got it out of a small subscription lending library next to the bookshop where I got my Honey and 19 magazines. It was on the corner of Kilmore and Barbadoes Streets, of course it is now demolished and it hadn’t been a bookshop for years but I have very fond memories of it. I also enjoyed the hospital Mills and Boons (green covers?) that my grandmother used to get from the London Books subscription lending library in Colombo Street. Had my family never heard of a public library?
    Now I think my favourite romance is A.S. Byatt’s Posession.

    • jane 12 July 2011 / 9:11 am

      I loved Wuthering Heights as well, but really he was such a nasty piece of work. I used to go to my friends house and read her mother’s Mills and Boon because my mother wouldn’t have such “trash” in her house. I still love a good romance novel.

  2. mj 11 July 2011 / 2:47 pm

    The monthly New Titles always gives me a good giggle when I read the romance section – this month’s selection includes … Sex, gossip and rock & roll; A dark Sicilian secret; Cupcakes and killer heels; In want of a wife?; Prince of scandal; Too proud to be bought; The doctor’s damsel in distress … I’d like to think that the person who gets to choose the novel’s titles has a great laugh doing their job.

    • jane 12 July 2011 / 9:07 am

      What I love about Mills and Boon is that they really are up with the times. Illegitimate babies, women in heels working for the big corporate, cupcakes for goodness sake! How more up to the minute can you be….?

  3. RachaelCCL 12 July 2011 / 2:35 pm

    One of my favourite library games is “Guess the missing word from the title”, affectionately known as, “The Pink Book Game”.

    Ruthless Billionaire, _____ Baby
    The Italian _____’s Virgin Mistress

Leave a Reply

