Whim Wham, thank you man

CurnowSome people get into poetry at university, all berets, booze and broodiness. I discovered it through Whim Wham in The Press. The Saturday poems were bitingly funny, took the mickey out of people, and had all sorts of things in them I didn’t understand.

Whim Wham was a pen-name for noted poet, academic and former sub-editor Allen Curnow. Today would have been his 100th birthday. So for all those laughs and grins and questions, and for all the ‘little of the little I know of myself and the world’, thanks man.

4 thoughts on “Whim Wham, thank you man

  1. alimison 17 June 2011 / 8:42 pm

    I love some of his “serious” stuff too. “Wild Iron” is an amazing poem. But yeah, Whim Wham was fantastic. I only discovered Whim Wham through the book of selections from it, edited by Terry Sturm.

  2. J Bri 30 June 2011 / 12:55 pm

    Did Curnow write a poem called the Silent Majority? I heard it on radio NZ and am desperate to have a copy, I have hunted through the Tauranga library without luck and wondered if you would have more?
    Please can you email me it if you have a copy, I fell in love with it when I heard it and are now stranded.

    Thank you
    J Bruning

    • richard 30 June 2011 / 1:28 pm

      Hi there – I’m not sure. You can phone us on 941-7923 if you like.
      Donna mentioned the Radio NZ link above – you may be able to contact them to find out which poems were read? You could also search the New Zealand Electronic Text Centre, which has several Curnow works online.

Leave a Reply

