Origins: A treasure for family history hunters

CemeteryOn 4 May 1691, Alice Bayley,  “widow, crazy and sickly” of  St Saviour Southwark, left instructions in her will:

To my grandsons Thomas Bayley and Henry Bayley my four engine looms; to my granddaughter Elizabeth Bayley all my household goods; to my cousin Mary Wysam my black crepe gown and petticoat and a pair of stays.

How do I know this? I found this out  on the National Wills index which is contained in Origins – a family history website that offers access to British, Scottish and  Irish genealogy records.

Much of our family history collection is within the walls of the Central Library, which is closed, but there are family history electronic resources available from all our open community libraries. Origins is only available in libraries between 10am and 7pm due to license restrictions, but it is still a treasure for family history hunters!

Check out our other online family history resources – you never know what you might find!