Home Work

coverI seem to have developed into a bit of an architecture junkie recently so I could hardly contain myself when my reserve came through for this book. As one would expect Patrick Reynold’s  photographs are breathtakingly beautiful and together with the floor plans and elevations give a real sense of these stunning buildings.  John Walsh’s deliciously architect-speak prose is delightful yet  informative  and elevates Home Work to so much more than mere coffee table status.

The homes depicted are diverse in design, age and location (albeit with a preponderance of Auckland architects represented) yet they share a New Zealandness that is hard to put your finger on. My own favourite is Kerry Mason’s Scarborough home and no I am not just being parochial! The house is stunning, the views to die for. But I also love the quirkiness of Julie Stout and David Mitchell’s  home in Auckland – they manage to make that corrugated plastic stuff look amazing!

I spent a lovely summer’s afternoon dipping and diving into this book experiencing many a LOTTO moment along the way as I visualised, dreamed and planned my ideal home.

So, if you won Big Wednesday – who would you get to design the house of your dreams on Thursday?

Celebrating our people, Girl Guides and Brownies – Image of the Week

Rakaia Girl Guide and Brownie (in the white hats) packs in 1933.

Rakaia Girl Guide and Brownie (in the white hats) packs in 1933

Do you have photos of Christchurch? We love donations.

Also contact us if you have any further information on any of the images. Want to see more? You can browse our collection.