Books in to movies – I say yes, you say …?

Christchurch City Library catalogue link to Sherlock Holmes
His last bow; and the case-book of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

This in response to Zac’s blog post Should books really be made into movies. I know I could have commented in the comments but the more I thought about it, the more I had to say so bear with me. Now Lisa has swung into the debate with her blog Shutter Island : Good; Leo : Not so Good, now here is my two cents or is the going rate 10 cents? 

I too saw some movies over summer including Sherlock Holmes and The Lovely Bones – yes, both books. One of the things I noticed was that over half of the movies that were being advertised were based on books.

A lot of people are of the school that movies based on books aren’t as good as the real thing. In many cases this is true but look what it does to the reserve lists at the library. Because of the movie Sherlock Holmes, my husband and I have discovered the joys of Sherlock Holmes – the novels. Holmes was as Guy Ritchie portrayed him – a brilliantly analytical, drug-taking, street fighter who was more than likely manic depressive. Who would have thought! They’re a really good read.

And then there is the True Blood series. I couldn’t get Prime when it first came out so I tried the books to see if they were worth giving a go. Sadly they were – great pulp reading. I say sadly because now my reading is centring around Sookie Stackhouse, closely chased by Sherlock Holmes with the odd novel thrown in to break it up a little. So are any movies that inspired you to read? Or any movies that are better than the book?

Majestic Crossroads – Image of the week

Traffic at the intersection of High, Lichfield and Manchester Streets. 1962.

Traffic at the intersection of High, Lichfield and Manchester Streets

The Majestic Theatre is on the right and the Canterbury Building Society building in the centre, on the corner of High and Manchester Streets.

Do you miss the way things used to be? Share your photos with us! We love donations, contact us.

Also contact us if you have any further information on any of the images. Want to see more? You can browse our collection here.