Commonwealth Writers Prize nominations announced

This year’s Commonwealth Writers Prize is being hosted here in New Zealand.  In 2007 a Kiwi author was triumphant with Lloyd Jones’ Mister Pip coming up trumps.  Will this be repeated in 2009 to the delight of the home crowd?  Who knows?

The New Zealand authors who feature in the shortlist are Paula Morris for Forbidden Cities (Best book), Mo Zhi Hong for the young adult novel The year of the Shanghai shark and Bridget van de Zijpp for Misconduct (both nominated in the Best First Book category).

My money would be on Aravind Adiga to win something given his double nomination.  His debut White Tiger has already picked up the Man Booker and is nominated again for Best First Book, and his second offering Between the Assassinations is up for Best Book.  It’s good to be Aravind, I think.

The award winners will be announced in May as part of the Auckland Writers and Readers Festival.

One thought on “Commonwealth Writers Prize nominations announced

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s