Something Wicked

Halloween
Halloween

October 31st, All Hallows Eve, Halloween, whatever. This is the time of year when people’s thoughts turn to scary things. I was traumatised by watching The Poltergeist when I was 5 and even now, staticy-TVs scare me, so I prefer my scares in book form where I can control the output.

With that background, it’s probably no surprise that my pick for creepiest book ever is a pretty tame, gore free volume – Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury even features a library , but for atmospheric, disorienting horror, I think there’s none better. Some other notoriously scary beditme reads are:

  • Almost any Stephen King book, especially The Shining! (Celebrity Opinion: Jared Fogle (the Subway guy) told me that this is his favourite book)
  • Any winner of the Bram Stoker Award for horror
  • The original Edgar Allen Poe stories, especially The Pit and The Pendulum
  • And one that is now on my reserve list after seeing it mentioned in almost every scary book list on the net – The Ruins by Scott Smith. Hopefully it is better than the movie : Tagline “It was a place of sacrifice…it still is!”

Lisa S.

5 thoughts on “Something Wicked

  1. Donna 1 November 2008 / 9:16 am

    Stephen King is genuinely scary. The clown one It is nasty and spooky, as is Pet Sematary. I’ve just read Flood by Stephen Baxter … scary in a different way. The sea levels keep rising and rising and the world has to cope with losing land and people on a new scale. Eco horror!

  2. Lynne 2 November 2008 / 11:37 am

    I’m glad someone else likes Ray Bradbury. Many years ago I read a collection of his short stories in paperback called, I think, “October tales”, very autumnal and creepy.

  3. Lisa 4 November 2008 / 11:48 am

    The October Game – from that collection – best last line ever! If you’ve ever played the party game where everyone closes their eyes and passes around “witches eyes” (i.e. peeled grapes) then you should def check it out! It’s in 2 collections the library has “Long after Midnight” and “The stories of Ray Bradbury”.

  4. Lisa 17 November 2008 / 3:45 pm

    Well I just finished “The Ruins” – I guess in some cases the movie can be just as bad as the book!

Leave a Reply

