My paper copy of the Auckland Writers and Readers Festival programme is a sea of pink as the highlighter continues to get a work-out.

My second most anticipated event features Rosemary McLeod; cartoonist, journalist, collector and all-round great writer whose work has been entertaining, annoying and making me think since I was a teenager. Actually that may be something of an exaggeration because she’s not much older than me, but then she could have started working on Thursday magazine when she was a teenager.

Thrift to FantasySearch for With bold needle and thread

I still look for her column first in The Press on a Thursday and her book Thrift to Fantasy is one of my favourites, so I’m really excited to hear her talk about The Secret Life of Aprons and her new book With bold needle and thread.

The occasion may call for the wearing of a very special ceremonial apron. Like a female Mason, if there was such a thing.

Embroidery Embroidery